About Me

Am a Christian.  Conservative values and beliefs.  Simple lifestyle.  Single (been divorced, been widowed), no children.  Own one adorable tortie kitty, Leah, that I adopted 11/29/16.  Born, raised and currently living in Iowa (have lived in Alabama, Texas, Kansas, Oklahoma, West Virginia and Illinois).

Am a military veteran-served honorably.  Am a college graduate from three colleges (one university - magna cum laude, two community colleges - one with honors), attended a year of graduate college majoring in linguistics.  Prior career fields include medicine, administration and elementary education.  Currently medically retired.

Enjoy a variety of interests and hobbies.  Like doing needlework (crewel, counted cross stitch and embroidery), machine sewing (18" doll clothes, baby and adult clothing and quilting) and making beaded needle accessories.  Have been sewing in some form or another since 1971.

Abbie's Sewing and Stuff is my digital journal of my work with needle and thread, written in my voice, my style.  Sharing how I do what I do.  Sharing what I've learned while working with needle and thread.  Writing is the spoken word set down on paper or in this case to type.  While I've received a wonderful education and am thankful I have learned a thing or two, I still make mistakes.  Getting old isn't for sissies along with factoring in a few other things such as limitations or cognitive inabilities that can and do happen as a result of having diabetes and fibromyalgia - mistakes will and do happen.  I do proof before I post, but am not always successful in catching all the errors.  I ask that you overlook the error bumps and consider the heart of my posts.